IWW in 3 mins cont… A meeting with a Veteran of of the Somme 1st July 1916-bitterness remained all their life.

Scarce heard among the guns. (Blogs about WW1)

I remembered meeting a veteran of the 1st of July on the Somme, by the time 2016 comes around I will have forgotten. They were there on the day. The noise, the blood, the quick and the dead. I remembered them on the 4th August. but I had forgotten their name. The veteran was an important person on the 1st July, I had wondered who decided who would live and who would die. This veteran was one of those who decided. I remember the veteran telling me it was at times purely random. Picking soldiers out of a line. You would just point, him, him, maybe him, he is going to die, he will die, he will die. We would stop now and then for a coke for me, and a beer, bottled, and I had to get them. The veteran rationed both the coke, it might have been orangeā€¦

View original post 342 more words

Leave a Reply

