#FWW #WW1 @FolkestoneRT @ Through #Folkestone to die at Arras

Scarce heard among the guns. (Blogs about WW1)

Old cemeteries are by their nature interesting places. From them, it is possible to find much out about the history of the community buried there. Where the sons and daughters travelled to during their lifetimes. Where they served and died during their end days. I have been spending a little time at Folkestone Old Cemetery. mostly getting to know folk. The next time I move I would like to know some of my neighbours before I move in. Some young people have been clearing a few shrubs and I came across an inscription I had not previously been able to see, it is on the memorial in the first photo.

I do not know much about Francis William Ground, only what is on the memorial and on the Commonwealth War Graves Commission website. That in itself is more than can be found out about many soldiers. William joined as a private…

View original post 446 more words

Leave a Reply

