IWW 3 mins, continued. The last Evening of 1918 the story of the Iolair dead.

Scarce heard among the guns. (Blogs about WW1)

Sometimes in writing the shortest blog the title is the hardest part. Take this one, The Scottish Horse Islanders, Then I had to change it to reflex the new information I had found. This the sea of Tranquillity, the Eagle has landed was a working title, so was The day Shulishader died. The weird thing was the blog was going to be about something completely different. I was looking to see on the Roll of Honour for Lewis when it struck me just how many had drowned on the Iolair. But as it is about the Iolair The Scottish Horse will wait.

I have walked many battlefields all around the globe, and as a kid, I used to imagine what it was like to die in battle. I just can not begin to imagine what it was like for the Iolair. What did it feel like when they were grabbed…

View original post 422 more words

Leave a Reply

